More on Dimensioning


After elaborating more on the standards of dimensioning and finishing our worksheets, the time came to create our own technical drawing from scratch.

We had to create a drawing to communicate the form of a classic Lego brick. We were to use calipers or take dimensions from the web and translate those dimensions into a technical drawing using correct dimensions, line weights and scales. Fun fact, 4:1 is not an appropriate scale (only 1:1, 2:1, 5:1, 20:1).


 I started by working out my layout, choosing my scale and understanding and translating the dimensions I’d read on the Internet.

I used a makeshift drawing board that id made out of paper taped to a wooden board in conjunction with a t square, 90• square and 30• square. As I started getting more lines on the page, I felt good about the shapes I was creating. I also found that the more I did, the more I realised I had to do and that a Lego brick is in fact a very complex object. 4 hours later, when I sat back from my work, I was incredibly proud of how streamlined and professional the drawing turned out. I still need to learn how to work with ellipses better, but am otherwise very happy with the finished product.

Leave a Reply

