Deliberate Practice: Let’s DO THIS!

Part of the reason I started this blog was so I always had to think about what I was doing and learning in Uni, not just do it, hand it in and forget about it. If I have to explain myself in a blog, I have to make logical sense of what I’m learning. It’s an excuse to study.

The reason I want to study is because I want to always be working toward my goal of getting a job in design. I know that I have to be working harder, studying more and constantly thinking about design if I want to achieve this goal within a short timeframe. I’m not a kid this time, I’ve got bills to pay.

While I’ve been doing this anyway, I’ve learned there’s a name for this kind of self-directed compulsive study – ‘deliberate practice’.

Many weeks back, we were taught that creativity isn’t a natural talent – it can be learned, but you have to stretch your mind and make the time and effort to practice thinking creatively.

All these thoughts are making more sense since I read ‘So Good They Can’t Ignore You’ by Cal Newport (which I thoroughly recommend). It essentially talks about how you can’t become happy just by finding a job in a field you’re intrinsically passionate about; you must dedicate time and effort to become amazing at what you do and that is what will make you fall in love with it.

So that’s why I’m back on the blog. Time to revise everything I learnt last semester and prepare myself for next semester. LET’S DO THIS!

Leave a Reply

