Drawing a Room by Building a Grid

To start off this assignment, we had to draw a room in observation. I chose this small room filled with rectilinear objects for reasons that will soon be obvious. I was so pleased with the result, I splashed a bit of colour onto it with my new Copic markers.

IMG_1175IMG_1163IMG_1176

To do the grid-drawing, I started by measuring the room and creating some orthographic drawings to put my measurements on. This wasn’t a necessary step, but it was a great way for me to practice my technical drawing and helped me visualise the dimensions of the room better.

IMG_1177IMG_1178

Finally onto the proper drawing. First step was to create a grid using the measuring point method then build a room out of it and fill it with the objects – all using approximate division of cubes. Of course, I chose to colour it in with markers for good measure and some approximate shadows, based on my original observational drawing.

IMG_1179IMG_1188IMG_1189

Leave a Reply

