Crafting an Interactive CV (With Zero Web Skills)

I’m ineligible for Centrelink. I don’t have a job. I need money. I also have a goal to get a job in design within a year of leaving uni. I’ve also had too much time on my hands since donning the leisurely lifestyle of a uni student.

solution: get a fucking job.
problem: I have a collection of very impressive film CVs, but none to do with design.marcia.jpg

In order to mark a pathway to design in CV form, I realised I had to call attention to all the qualities of my previous jobs that were useful in a design job. I would make a CV centred around these qualities, rather than the jobs I’d been using them in.Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 13.32.04

Then I realised I had way too much info to include on one beautiful page and that I’d be sending my CV to places via email, not handing them a hard-copy. So why not make an interactive one that could be beautiful AND hide a bunch of information.

I put it off for a little while, because I was freaked out by the idea of coding. Then I learned that the new InDesign has a publish-online feature that allows rich interactive PDFs to be viewed faithfully in a web browser.

IMG_1593I started by creating a very basic layout and a spreadsheet that contained all of the information I wanted to include.

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 13.38.42Once I figured out how the interactivity would work, it was time to focus on how the thing would look. I already knew I wanted it to be circular and favouring a landscape aspect-ratio.

I searched for inspiration and learned that geographic shapes are in right now as well as capitalisation, big text, little text, and colour schemes such as this one:

Screen Shot 2016-07-20 at 13.32.21

Now, there are a lot of problems building interactivity into PDFs. People make web pages for a reason and if anything, this experience has convinced me that I should learn to code, at least a little bit.

InDesign didn’t like too many events per button click, it bugged out. PDFs also don’t allow non-rectangular buttons, which creates very annoying overlaps.

Once I’d finally worked out the usability, I turned my mind back to aesthetics. It was ugly.

My first mistake was to make the main parts look nice and then throw information at the page on button clicks:

I had to find a way to make lots of information pretty. I decided a second page was necessary. I also extended the geographic shapes and colours theme.

You can check out the final interactive design here.

I’ve sent it out to a few places so far. I got great feedback from one company. They really liked my CV, but thought I should show more images of my work. As I don’t have much work yet, I’ll keep that as a suggestion for next year’s redesign perhaps.

Leave a Reply

