Lofts, Curves, and Beefed-Up Assemblies

I started my session with the built-in lofting tutorial. It’s really cool that you can loft through multiple points to create an organic looking shape. The tutorial also taught me about the flex tool to create this hammer-head: I then had a bit of fun seeing how far I could push the flex tool, turns out pretty far.

I also learned that you can turn off the ‘shaded’ planes and just have outlines, allowing me to still see the planes, but not let them get in the way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Onto the weekly tasks, I employed what I’d learnt in the lecture about fillets and chamfers to create this part:

  • Variable fillet = select multiple points to assign size values to. More information might be needed when bending around tangents.
  • Full round fillet = select 3 different sides to create a fully rounded edge. – I didnt try this on 3 different axes but am interested in what the result would be.
  • Tangent propagation = automated flow on of effects by solidworks. saves time. can be switched off to allow more control.
  • Important to think about the order in which each effect is applied to get the desired result.

 

 

Lofting with guide curves to create organic shapes:

  • use the coincident relation to create 2-dimensional relationships
  • use the pierce relation to create 3-dimensional relationships
  • relations can be created with other sketches and planes
  • draw guide curves on a plane perpendicular to the profiles to create a path for the loft

The shell tool can empty a solid shape to a universal or variable wall thickness. It can be open on one or multiple faces, or full enclosed on the outside.

The last part of this weeks work kinda blew my mind.

I learnt that you could import an assembly into another assembly, using it as a ‘sub-assembly’ and creating a whole new layer of depth to the project. This helps me understand how people create those really complex assemblies I see sometimes.

I made good friends with the section views and line views to help me see what was going on inside the part in order to connect it.

 

 

This week, I bought parallels and windows so that I could install solidworks on my mac. I’m really stoked on how easy it is to share programs and files between operating systems. It’s a bit slower than the machines at uni. I’ve been capable of editing 30 hours worth of raw video files at a time on this computer while running other programs in the background with ease, so the slowness was disappointing. I will try different settings for parallels to see if I can fix this issue. I may also have to invest in a windows-style keyboard or play around with the whole hot-key system to make life easier.

Leave a Reply

