New Drawing & Rendering Techniques

This semester of drawing was a lot more focused on loose, free-form drawing with organic shapes. Most of it is a combination of observation, intuition and practice, but the rest of it is way too difficult for me to explain with still images.

If you’re interested, I highly recommend following Dan McLean on instagram and youtube, where he posts time-lapse videos of his drawing and rendering processes.

Below are some drawings and renderings that I took step-by step photos of to help understand the overall process.

We started the semester by refreshing the basics, and also looking at them from a new angle. The long axis / axis of revolution pictured below made so much more sense to me than breaking it down from a perspective cube. I had an ‘aha!’ moment when I saw this illustrated:img_3939

Fillets and chamfers:

Starting with a basic cube, you draw a series of different planes where the fillets begin and end. Then, you use ellipses to find the contours.

Rendering with colour:

Using grey markers, coloured markers, chalk, pencil and an eraser, I got a variety of tones into this high-gloss car. Unfortunately I should have used a second, lighter marker, but was unable to find one with an appropriate hue. All of my colour renderings were made a lot harder by not having the right equipment. If I could go back, I would definitely decide it was worth it to find more colours from the start.

As you can see below, I had limited tools to represent the difference between matte and gloss surfaces.

img_3655

The technique of shaving chalk onto the page and then cutting highlights into it with an eraser was a new one for me that I really enjoyed.

From this point, we were allowed to do more work with coloured pencils, which I really enjoyed. The different shades and densities you can create with pencil is much more appealing to me than drawing with pen. I feel like I can be more expressive with softer media.

img_3640
The chrome technique was a little intimidating. You have to be pretty confident placing the black, so start with that first. Once I thought about how the light and reflections would physically be wrapped around this 3D object, it was much easier. Mid-tone floor converging to a very dark distance, then contrasting with a very bright horizon and eventually fading up into blue sky.

‘Super Markers’:

To quickly fill a page with an even background colour, you could just use coloured paper, OR, you can create a ‘super marker’. The first option is to pour marker ink straight onto a cotton pad and spread it across the page. The much cheaper option is to shave chalk onto the pad and then drown it in zippo lighter fluid. Both create a great effect and you can blend between two different colours too.

img_3617

One of our final assignments was to redraw the chair we’d been allotted 15 minutes or so to draw on orientation day. I tried to do mine fairly quickly and recreate a similar time pressure. It turned out just as wonky as the first attempt, but I was very pleased with my new rendering skills, especially on the chrome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

